Recruitment Dashboard Discovery – Assisted Digital Impact (ADI) Assessment

Understanding Assisted Digital Needs ensures that developed services conform to Accessibility and Assisted Digital requirements specified in the Service Manual.

Web Content Accessibility Standards are the recognised standard for Assisted Digital Compliance.

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) are part of a series of web accessibility guidelines published by the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) of the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), the main international standards organization for the Internet. They are a set of recommendations for making Web content more accessible, primarily for people with disabilities—but also for all user agents, including highly limited devices, such as mobile phones

We will run an analysis and create a report identifying the 6 main categories of WCAG Compliance:

  • Errors - e.g. Empty Link/Empty Table header (can cause confusion or display of incorrect information)
  • Alerts - e.g. Skipped Heading Level (can cause difficulty navigating web pages or ambiguous text)
  • Features - e.g. Alternative Text (can cause confusion with content or function of an image to screen reader users)
  • Structural Elements - e.g. Heading Level (Can cause confusion to some users as they facilitate page navigation for users of assistive technologies. They also provide semantic and visual meaning and structure to the document)
  • ARIA - e.g. ARIA (ARIA provides enhanced semantics and accessibility for web content)
  • Contrast Errors - e.g. Low Contrast Errors (Adequate contrast is necessary for all users, especially users with low vision)

The new service should meet these standards.

Scale of Assisted Digital Need

Assess level of assisted digital need against the UK Digital Inclusion Scale.

Below is a diagram depicting the latest Digital Inclusion Scale figures on the UK population are taken from the Government Digital Inclusion Strategy, last updated in 2014

The diagram shows that as of 2014, 79% of the population are 7 (basic digital skills), 8 (confident), or 9 (expert). 7% of the population were a 4 (reluctantly online), 5 (learning the ropes), or 6 (task specific). 14% of the population were a 1 (never have, never will), a  2 (was online, but no longer), or a 3 (willing and unable). This 14% of the population would have assisted digital need.

Meeting the Digital Need

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d